In the 1990 legislative session, the Kentucky legislature passed HB 940, which is best known as the Kentucky Education Reform Act (KERA).  Essentially, this piece of legislation changed the face of education in Kentucky from curriculum to finance.  One drastic change that came with KERA was how governance was handled, and the introduction of school-based decision making councils by KRS 160.345.

School councils promote shared leadership among those who are close to the students.  Membership of each council includes parents, teachers and an administrator of the school.  The council has the responsibillity to set school policy and make decisions outlined in statute which shall provide an environment to enhance student achievement and help meet the goals established in KRS 158.645 and 158.6451

Making decisions through shared decision making results in a greater commitment to implementing decisions that will enhance the achievement of students.

SBDM Policy Handbook

Rowan County High School Site-Based Council Members

Ray Ginter - Principal/Chair

Terry Lewis

Bradley McKinney -Teacher Representative

Carolyn O'Brien -Teacher Representative

Toby Gardner - Parent Representative

Anthony Cantrell -Parent Representative


RCSHS SBDM Council meetings are held on the 2nd Tuesday of each month at 3:30 in the high school conference room.  


Contact Us

Rowan County Senior High School
499 Viking Drive
Morehead, KY 40351

View Map & Directions
Phone: 606-784-8956
Fax: 606-784-1067

Stay Connected